Survivor bias / Stories of failure

August 24, 2009 § 1 Comment

When I was young, my father told me that a smart man is one who learns from his own mistakes, and a wise man is one who learns from the mistakes of others. I read, then, with some interest this story of a failed startup, and wanted to share. Survivor bias creeps in all too often and prevents us from learning lessons that we really ought to be learning. Like Edison, I’ve not yet failed, but I’ve certainly found a lot of ways that won’t work. I think that means I’m just smart, but I’m trying to be wise.

§ One Response to Survivor bias / Stories of failure

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Survivor bias / Stories of failure at Mike Vallotton's Blog.

meta

